IAA Website - Thursday, September 24, 2020 11:45 PM

Maintenance Programme - Aircraft with EASA Certificate of Airworthiness

The maintenance of each aircraft shall be organised in accordance with an Aircraft Maintenance Programme (AMP). The AMP should be developed in accordance with the criteria laid down in Part M M.A.302.

For ELA1 aircraft, not involved in Commercial Operations, the owner may use  a "Self-Declared AMP. Additional information is available in AAM 10.

Owners may use the Self-Declared Maintenance Programme, where applicable, or customise the EASA published Minimum Inspection Programme and Template to suit their aircraft. AMPs other than Self-Declared Maintenance Programmes, must be approved by the IAA

Who is responsible for ensuring that the aircraft is maintained in accordance with the AMP?

The owner is responsible for ensuring that;

  • The aircraft is maintained in an airworthy condition;
  • Any operational and emergency equipment fitted is correctly installed and serviceable;
  • The Airworthiness Review Certificate remains valid;
  • The maintenance of the aircraft is performed in accordance with the Aircraft Maintenance Programme (AMP).

The owner may contract the tasks associated with the continuing airworthiness (e.g. maintenance planning) to a Continuing Airworthiness Management Organisation (CAMO). In this case, the CAMO assumes responsibility for the proper accomplishment of the contracted tasks.

Who can perform (certify) maintenance?

This is only applicable to non-complex motor powered aircraft and aircraft not used for commercial specialised operations or commercial ATO operations or Commercial Air Transport. Maintenance may be certified by an appropriately rated Part 145 Maintenance Organisation, Part M Subpart F Maintenance Organisation or a Part 66 Licence holder when the MTOM is less than 2,730kg or a sailplane, powered sailplane or balloon. Some maintenance may be certified by the pilot-owner.

A Part M Subpart F approved organisation may install components with EASA or FAA certification on General Aviation Aircraft. They may also certify components with an EASA Form 1. However, these components may not be installed on aircraft used for Commercial Air Transport.

The overhaul of engines and propellers for CS-VLA (Very Light Aeroplanes), CS-22 ((powered) Sailplanes) and LSA (Light Sports Aircraft) aircraft can be certified by personnel appropriately qualified in accordance with Part 66 or national regulation. The maintenance performed, in these cases, is not eligible for the issuance of an EASA Form 1.

List of EASA Part 145 maintenance organisations in Ireland

List of EASA Part M Subpart F maintenance organisations in Ireland

What maintenance can a pilot-owner perform?

A list of maintenance tasks which may be performed by the pilot-owner is available in Appendix VIII to Annex  I (Part M) of Regulation 1321/2014. The permitted pilot-owner who may perform them, must be identified in Aircraft Maintenance Programme according to the principles laid out in the regulation. This privilege only applies to non-complex motor-powered aircraft with an MTOM of less than 2,730kg, sailplane, powered sailplane or balloon.

How long must I retain the maintenance records for?

1. All detailed maintenance records in respect of the aircraft and any service life limited component fitted thereto, until such time as the information contained therein is superseded by new information equivalent in scope and detail but not less than 36 months after the aircraft or component has been released to service
2. the total time in service (hours, calendar time, cycles and landings) of the aircraft and all service life-limited components, at least 12 months after the aircraft or component has been permanently withdrawn from service; and
3. the time in service (hours, calendar time, cycles and landings) as appropriate, since last scheduled maintenance of the component subjected to a service life limit, at least until the component scheduled maintenance has been superseded by another scheduled maintenance of equivalent work scope and detail; and
4. the current status of compliance with maintenance programme such that compliance with the approved aircraft maintenance programme can be established, at least until the aircraft or component scheduled maintenance has been superseded by other scheduled maintenance of equivalent work scope and detail; and
5. the current status of airworthiness directives applicable to the aircraft and components, at least 12 months after the aircraft or component has been permanently withdrawn from service; and
6. details of current modifications and repairs to the aircraft, engine(s), propeller(s) and any other component vital to flight safety, at least 12 months after they have been permanently withdrawn from service.

To order Airframe/Engine/Propeller Logbooks from the IAA, please contact licensing@iaa.ie or phone (01) 6718655.

Maintenance Programme - Aircraft with a Flight Permit

Aircraft (incl. helicopters) not affected by EASA Regulations, operating on a Flight Permit, shall undergo an annual Flight Permit inspection in accordance with the maintenance programme of the maintenance organisation approved for that aircraft e.g. ILAS, NMAI.

Maintenance shall be certified by inspectors authorised by the nationally approved maintenance organisation. Pilot-owner maintenance may also be allowed, subject to an approved procedure being detailed in the organisation's Procedures Manual.

The owner may also have maintenance performed and certified an EASA approved maintenance organisation or individual with an appropriate rating subject to compliance with AN A15 This does not include the annual Flight Permit inspection.

Important information regarding cookies and the IAA.ie

By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with the IAA Cookie Policy. For more information on cookies, see our cookie policy.